Know Your Subject

Environment and sustainability in different subjects

The Seven Principles of CAPS

The CAPS curriculum is based on a set of important principles. These inform all teaching and learning in the CAPS and have informed the design and development of all CAPS subjects. All of these principles are reflected in UNESCO policy guidelines on ESD. The seven principles are:

  1. Social transformation
  2. Active and critical learning
  3. High knowledge and high skills
  4. Progression
  5. Human rights, inclusivity, environmental and social justice
  6. Valuing indigenous knowledge systems, and
  7. Credibility, quality and efficiency